What information is shared with location managers?
posted this on December 17, 2010 15:20
First, a note about claimed locations: not every place listed on Foursquare is a claimed location (See http://support.foursquare.com/entries/211231-what-is-a-venue). Your information will be shared with said location if you check in there or, if you have turned on ‘check-in by friend,’ your friend mentions you in his/her check in.
These places and managers do not have access to all your personal profile and location information. Instead, they only have access to a more limited set of information (e.g., your name and photo with a link to your public profile page if you've recently checked in at their location--unless you've opted out of this on your account settings), depending on a robust set of choices we give you during the check in process and on your account settings (or by clicking Settings on the Foursquare website).
By default location managers who claim and manage their locations and/or events on Foursquare are able to see who has recently checked into their location and/or event as well as a list of frequent visitors to their location when they’re looking at their Foursquare account.
You can choose to opt out of letting business owners or event managers see this information by going to your account settings and unchecking the box next to ‘Let venue managers see when I check in to their business, or when I am one of their best customers.’