Friends

Friend requests and notifications

Foursquare Swarm is intended to be a fun, personal app to use with your close friends. We encourage our users to add personal friends and not other users you may come across while checked in somewhere. You may only have 1000 friends on Foursquare Swarm and have up to 500 pending/outstanding friend requests at any given moment. To cancel a pending friend request, visit the profiles of the people you have requested, click the button that says "request pending" and click "cancel pending request."

_f69d5672df72ab280a1632984706cb61__Image_2017-10-25_at_10.38.56_AM.png_6f8364914340bee3e26de3419631e946__Image_2017-10-25_at_10.39.08_AM.png

You can opt to receive friend request notifications via the app or email. You can change these options in your profile settings.

Adding friends

To add friends on Foursquare Swarm, visit your profile and tap the user icon with a "+" sign in the top left corner. You can scan your address book (we just look, we don’t store any of this info!), search Twitter friends and search Facebook friends. You can also search friends by name, email address or phone number.

Another way to add friends is by clicking the social feed button at the bottom right hand corner of your check-ins feed. This will take you to a screen with all of your friends check-ins which also gives you the option to add more friends.

_dddc1087423ffe233f5e9e321819c356__Image_2017-08-05_at_4.13.20_PM.png_e932078633b496c62e17236de991ef9a__Image_2017-08-05_at_4.13.59_PM.png _3e3da094d11ecddc25ce9401b928d8d8__Image_2017-08-05_at_4.07.04_PM.png

If you want to add someone specific, you can always visit their profile page and tap the button "Add Friend."

Image_2017-08-05_at_4.09.35_PM.png

Friends Privacy

We care about your privacy. That's why we have a setting to limit friend requests to only friends of friends. Just head to Settings > Privacy and click "Only Friends of Your Friends" under Friend Requests.


Accepting/Ignoring a request

To accept a friend request, tap through to the notification you have received to either approve or ignore the friend request. If the request is from someone you do not want to approve as your Foursquare Swarm friend, tap 'ignore'. 

Deleting and Blocking

Tap through to the person's profile page and tap the user icon with the check mark in the top right corner. You will then have the option to ‘unfriend,’ or 'unfriend and block' which will cause the button to toggle back to ‘Add Friend.’

Image_2017-08-05_at_4.11.24_PM.png 

Foursquare Swarm Friends and Foursquare City Guide Followers

When you send a friend request to someone in Foursquare Swarm, you'll automatically start following them on Foursquare. When someone accepts your friend request in Foursquare Swarm, they'll automatically start following you on Foursquare City Guide.

Please note: Unfriending someone in Foursquare Swarm will not unfollow them on Foursquare City Guide, nor will it cause them to unfollow you. You will still follow each other's Tips, but you will no longer see one another's location or check-ins. Additionally, unfollowing someone on Foursquare City Guide will not unfriend them in Foursquare Swarm.

For more information about Foursquare City Guide followers, click here.