Who can see my information on Foursquare City Guide?
We take privacy very seriously at Foursquare. As always, if you have any questions at all about your account please just reach out! Our team is here to help.
You can always edit your Privacy Settings on Foursquare.com.
What information is public?
When you create an account on Foursquare City Guide, the following is viewable to the public. Note that some elements are optional or can be edited.
You can edit your name by going to your account settings. To use Foursquare City Guide you only need to provide a first name.
Your profile photo and the link to your profile page are viewable by the public. You may choose not to upload a profile photo to your account (or you may upload an avatar in place of a photo of yourself), but note: profile photos are required for unlocking mayorships. In your account settings, you can change your profile photo.
Your home city is viewable by the public. You are not required to include your home city upon signup and you can edit your home city in your account settings.
Your bio is viewable by the public. Including a bio is completely optional. To add, change, or remove your bio, go to your account settings.
Links to Twitter and Facebook (if they’re connected)
If you connect your Twitter and/or Facebook accounts to your Foursquare City Guide profile, clickable links to your Twitter and/or Facebook profiles will appear on your Foursquare City Guide profile page by default, which means that they are seen publicly. However, you have the ability to hide these Twitter and Facebook links through your account settings.
Your Foursquare City Guide followers and who you follow
Your list of followers is visible to the public. Note that the Foursquare City Guide app does not share location with your followers or people that you follow.
Tips and Lists
All tips that you write (and the photos you attach to them) will be viewable by the public. Please keep this in mind whenever you choose to leave a tip! Lists you create are viewable to the public. Keep this in mind before you decide to create a list and add tips and photos to it!
Likes and Dislikes are public. When you like a check-in, tip, etc., other people on Foursquare who can see that particular piece of content can also see that you’ve liked it.
When you add a photo to a tip, or to a place on Foursquare City Guide, that photo is public.
Your tastes are viewable on your Foursquare City Guide profile.
Thanks for your feedback!