Who can see my information on Foursquare Swarm?

We take privacy very seriously. We’ve outlined below what information is public on Swarm, only viewable by friends, and what authorized managers of businesses can see. As always, if you have any questions at all about your account please just reach out! Our team is here to help.

You can view a comprehensive overview of our privacy policy here.

You can always edit your Privacy Settings by going to your profile and tapping on "Settings" --> "Privacy Settings".

What information is public?

When you create an account on Foursquare Swarm, the following is viewable to the public. Note that some elements are optional or can be edited.

Your name

You can edit your name by going to your account settings. To use Foursquare Swarm you only need to provide a first name.

Profile photo

Your profile photo and the link to your profile page are viewable by the public. You may choose not to upload a profile photo to your account (or you may upload an avatar in place of a photo of yourself), but note:  profile photos are required for unlocking mayorships.  In your account settings, you can change your profile photo.

Home city

Your home city is viewable by the public.  You are not required to include your home city upon signup and you can edit your home city in your account settings.

Your bio

Your bio is viewable by the public.  Including a bio is completely optional.  To add, change, or remove your bio, go to your account settings.

Links to Twitter and Facebook (if they’re connected)

If you connect your Twitter and/or Facebook accounts to your Foursquare Swarm profile, clickable links to your Twitter and/or Facebook profiles will appear on your Foursquare Swarm profile page by default, which means that they are seen publicly.  However, you have the ability to hide these Twitter and Facebook links through your account settings.

Your Swarm friends

Your list of friends is visible to the public.  We recommend that all people on Foursquare Swarm be selective when adding friends.

Tips and Lists

All tips that you write (and the photos you attach to them) will be viewable by the public. Please keep this in mind whenever you choose to leave a tip! Lists you create are viewable to the public. Keep this in mind before you decide to create a list and add tips and photos to it!

Check-in comments

Comments on a check-in are viewable by people who can see that check-in. This means that potential friends-of-friends could see the things you write in your comments.

Likes/Dislikes

Likes and dislikes are public.  When you like a check-in other people on Foursquare Swarm who can see that particular piece of content can also see that you’ve liked it.

Check-ins shared to Facebook and/or Twitter

Anything you publish to Twitter, including your published check-ins, will appear on your Twitter stream in real-time, where all of your Twitter followers can view it (also, anyone visiting Twitter can see public tweets which are crawled and discoverable by search engines, unless you make your Tweets private in your Twitter user settings). Similarly, anything you publish to Facebook, including your published check-ins, will be viewable by everyone who’s allowed to view your Facebook activity (before pushing your Swarm activity to Facebook, make sure you’re comfortable with your Facebook Privacy Settings).

“Here now”

Your profile photo will show up in the “Here Now” facepile on the location page. Your check-ins will be included in “Here Now” by default.  To opt out of “Here Now,” go to your account settings and uncheck the box next to ‘Include me in the public list of people who are currently checked in at a venue.’

Public check-in photos

When you add a photo to a check-in on Foursquare Swarm, you can choose to keep that photo private to you and your Foursquare Swarm friends, or you can make it public by sliding the button to “on” to make public or “off” to share only with friends as applicable.  The first time you visit the add photo screen on a check-in, the button will be “on”.

What can my Foursquare Swarm friends see?

When you become friends with another person on Foursquare Swarm, they can see all of the public information above, as well as the following.

The location and time of your check-ins

The location and time of each of your check-ins is shared with your Foursquare Swarm friends by default. Your check-ins are also shared with people you invite to be your Foursquare City Guide friend.  When your friend adds you in his/her check-in, their friends will see in that check-in details that you were “with” that friend. This will look the same whether you have ‘check-in by friends’ turned on or off.

Private check-in photos

When you add a photo to a check-in on Foursquare Swarm, you can choose to keep that photo private to you and your Foursquare Swarm friends, or you can make it public by sliding the button to “on” to make public or “off” to share only with friends as applicable.  The first time you visit the add photo screen on a check-in, the button will be “on”.

What can claimed locations see?

When a business claims their location on Foursquare City Guide, they are given some access to the following information, in addition to your public profile information.

Check-in information

By default location managers who claim and manage their locations and/or events on Foursquare City Guide are able to see who has recently checked into their location on Foursquare Swarm (including if they have been checked in by their friends) and/or event as well as a list of frequent visitors to their location when they’re looking at their Foursquare City Guide account.

You can choose to opt out of letting business owners or event managers see this information by going to your account settings and unchecking the box next to ‘Let venue managers see when I check in to their business, or when I am one of their best customers.’

Name and profile photo

If you’ve recently checked in at a location or event, or if you are one of the most frequent visitors of the location or event, and that location is a claimed location  (i.e., a location where an owner or manager of that location has claimed and manages that location), that location will be able to see your name and your profile photo (which, when clicked upon, will take them to your public profile). They will not be able to see your email address or phone number.

If you’d rather not let location managers know that you are a loyal customer, you can opt out via your account settings and unchecking the box next to ‘Let venue managers see when I check in to their business, or when I am one of their best customers.’

Twitter ID

If you’ve connected your Twitter account to Foursquare Swarm and have recently checked in at a place or if you are one of the most frequent visitors of the place, the claimed location will be able to see your Twitter ID.

You can opt out of letting other users (including business owners) see your Twitter handle by adjusting your account settings