Messages

Messages make it easier to meet up with your friends! Use Foursquare Swarm to message one friend or a select group of friends. To enable messages, first turn on your Location Settings by going to your Profile > Settings > Location Settings and toggle your devices Background Location on.

On iOS, navigate to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and make sure "Location Services" and Foursquare are toggled On. Also, navigate to Settings > General > Background App Refresh and make sure that "Background App Refresh" and Swarm are toggled On.

On Android, navigate to Settings > Apps > Foursquare and be sure that Foursquare has permission to access your location.

Sending Messages

To send a message, just tap on the notifications inbox button and then the create message button at the top right hand side of the screen. Sending a message lets you share your specific location with your friends right on the map. You can also share stickers with your friends by tapping on the pin on the right side of the message field.

Pick a sticker and press send!

              

Location Sharing in Messaging

When you participate by replying back to a message, your phone's location will be shared with the other participants in the message. Don't worry, your phone's location is not shared when you read or receive a message, only if you reply. 

Deleting Messages

Messages will automatically disappear from your inbox after approximately seven days. If you did not create the message group, you can leave it! Click on the message and then click the "i" button on the top right hand corner:

_1fa20e08f1b16e8cc14bc298161188c7__Image_2017-10-25_at_10.30.57_AM.png_e1715309be2db34e1e54ef36120c9ecb__Image_2017-10-25_at_10.31.09_AM.png

Privacy in Messaging

We take your privacy seriously. That's why we've created a setting to help you restrict messages to only the people you're friends with on Swarm. Just head over to your Settings > Privacy and select "Only Friends of Friends" under Messages

 

 

Happy messaging!